The Final Act is Always The Hardest

Hey everyone,

Back to University again so back to the blog I suppose! Now I’d like to say this is going to be a happy post but I wanted to talk about something that might be considered fairly taboo in the mad excitement of University, freshers week and everything anyone will ever tell you about it. It can be a very lonely place even with a society for every zany habit under the sun. Don’t get me wrong I have amazing housemates, a lovely house for my last year and great friends on my course but still I have to say I feel very alone. I know its not something everyone experiences, and its a difficult feeling to articulate but I’ve just started my final year of Uni, the work load is already beyond belief and expectation is just horrendously high from lecturers to my well wishing grandparents. Yet I’m sat here thinking, am I the only one who isn’t happy here? I don’t enjoy the work anymore, I don’t feel like I have the time to go out and enjoy myself with all the work and right now I just want it all to be finished so I can say that I’ve got my degree. Thats not really how it should be…is it? I want to enjoy my final year, cherish every last bit of freedom and student loan that I have left. But right now, I’m not in that place at all.I admit that I haven’t been overly well in the past few months and its made matters worse, so I’m questioning do I stay and last it out, possibly at the expense of my health and happiness or stop, give myself time to recover and recuperate and begin my final year how I should in September but let everyone else around me down?

I know I’m not the only student who feels like this but it is never talked about and I definitely think that needs to change. University is and can be a very lonely place but it doesn’t have to be if you ask for help. I never ever thought I’d be in this position, but here I am…

Leave a Reply

